Age is an issue of mind over matter.If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter. -Mark Twain

Age is an issue of mind over matter.If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter. –Mark Twain

What a wonderful, thoughtful, inspirational & yet very realistic quotation from one of the world’s most admired author!

Generally, as a human being we tend to see our age from biological point of view and from very childhood; biology has taught us that as we grow older, as we advanced further in our life; AGE, certainly starts to work on us.

There are numerous external and internal symptoms that clearly manifest that slowly but very steadily we are getting older;

Some of them are very much apparent; like physical disability to do hard work, loss of eye sight, various diseases;

And there are numerous mental symptoms like weaken memory, less sharpness and agility in mind and slow decision power are some of the symptoms that simply comes with growing age.

But, on above mention quotation the author has completely change the popular above mention scenario which we perceived through the generations.

Author has thrown light to the topic from very different perspective,

Till today, we are habituated to think that as and when we grow older; the efficiency, the productivity of our body diminish;

Upto an extent it is true; so, till today, to stop the aging process, to stop the inefficiency of our body, to stop the loss of productivity of our body; we pay as much attention as much possible on the physical aspect of aging process and to avoid aging, to postpone aging process, to dalay aging process;

We do all the necessary activities, we take all the necessary steps like regular exercise, healthy and hygienic food, regular life etc.; there is nothing wrong in it, it is absolutely fine, but this over simplification ignores one of the very vital aspect of age.

And that is MENTAL ASPECT!

There is nothing about; when you grow older; a bit cautious, a bit alert, a bit conservative approach, but over and above there is one more very vital, very significant aspect that is;

Why do not use our mind-every human being’s very powerful & potential property in the universe; to cope with our aging process, to deal with our aging process, to delay our aging process.

Now comes the billion dollar question……

IS IT POSSIBLE?

Yes, it is absolutely possible!

How?

“If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter”.

The author has explained it in a very simple yet in a very solid manner.

If you really interested to stop the aging process;

First of all,

Follow the golden rule,

Do not mind about your age– it seems very simple from superficial level but in reality it is quite difficult to follow; because from our childhood, society has imposed ( in many cases, we have imposed)  so many, so called rules on us,and over the years as we grow older and older; those rules became the our guiding angel; and one of the rules of society is;

As you grow older, as you become aged, you do not have to take less trodden paths, you do not have to take any adventurous trips, you do not have to take risks, you do not have to become as enthusiastic as child to learn new things in your life;

In short, as you grow older, as you become aged, you have to live your life in most safest and cautious manner, the reason-now you have become old, now you have become aged!

But in above mention quotations author breaks all above mention so called myth and advised in simple terms “ do not mind your age” do whatever you like at any age.

And it is true too!

Because, history is full with thousands of man & women, those who have done splendid work at the old age, reached to the new height of their personal life at old age.

Some of them are worth to mention;

  • Can you believe ?Henry Ford was 45 when he created his the revolutionary Model T car.
  • Isn’t it seems miracle? that Mr.Ray Kroc started McDonald’s at age 52 in 1954; and later on he grew it into the world’s biggest fast-food franchise.
  • What about Anna Mary Robertson Moses who is better known as Grandma Moses, began her prolific painting career at the age of 78.
  • It is well known fact that; Harlan David Sanders who is well known as Colonel Sanders started Kentucy Fried Chicken at the age of 65 years.
  • I hope most of the readers might be aware that famous novel BEN HUR written by Lew Wallace at the age of 53.
  • At the age of 70; Golda Meir became the 4th prime minister of Israel.
  • Nelson Mandela became president of South Africa at the age of 74.

Above mention all the examples clearly specify one thing;

Age is hardly any barrier for those who do want to do something in their life; above mention all the people are simple, ordinary folk like all of us but one thing that clearly distinguish them from others is they never allowed age as their barrier to accomplish their worthy task or goal.

The concluding part of entire discussion;

It is never too late for anything or to pursue your dreams….

So, dear friends find your true passion, no matter whatever your age is; do not listen to others; do not get easily influenced by others; do not wait for permission from someone else.

There is nothing wrong in having a little fear; critically examine your fear; find the way to overcome it and take that first and most important bold step toward your lifelong goal that you have conceived through the decades and till today delayed due to some internal or external pressures.

Today, is the best day, none of us know about tomorrow, so, isn’t it a right time to take that little step towards your dream?

Comment is the section; where you can share your dreams and tell us what the little action you have taken to make your dream true.

 

41 thoughts on “Age is an issue of mind over matter.If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter. -Mark Twain

  1. I found this post to be very encouraging, especially the part where you said to follow your dream and not let others to influence you too much. For a long time I did what everyone expected me to do and be, and so I started my blog to follow my dreams.

    • This is one of the most wonderful thing you have ever done!
      Because, you have started the blog than only I came to know that such a sweet angel can also write in such a sweet manner!
      But, remember one thing this is the first test you have passed; in future lot many test & examine will come and if you follow your heart God will always help you; no matter how much your dreams may be difficult.

  2. I loved this post! I can connect to the issue of age on a personal level because I am 24 and my partner is 32 and I found that many people in my life seemed to disapprove of our relationship. As if the difference in age is a deciding factor as to who I am supposed to love and be with/ where I should be/ what I should be doing in my life. This preconceived notion of age having such an effect on our lives is so false and I think your piece is written excellently and your topic is an important one!

    • Yes, you are right, still it is preconceived notion in our society.
      But, let society live with their preconceived notion; at the end of the day, it is you who have to decide & I don’t think courageous, brave and big-heart lady can or will be dominated by the preconceived dogma of the society.

    • Thanks for your inspirational words!
      Wishing you a very happy blogging as well overall journey of life!
      I wish more often, I will read about your new tremendous traveling experience!
      Eagerly awaiting to read about your New Zealand trip, through out this journey I will be with you through your sweet post and stunning photos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Hi! I really enjoyed reading this piece. I love your take on aging, and how if you don’t mind it, it won’t matter so much. It’s so true especially about birthdays. That’s when the mental aspect of aging really kicks in for me. XO C

    • Carolyn,
      First of thanks for coming here. since, last so many days I was eagerly awaiting your presence; so, your presence here simply made my day.
      Despite of scarcity of time, I am trying to read your each post on Blogging U; till today, I am absolutely happy & satisfied with your performance; keep it up!
      Do I need to say once again; I would like to see your presence more often here……..
      No, I don’t think; because, you are also like me who believes in “Care & Share”.

  4. Swajith,
    You never fail to inspire me through your magnificent level of comprehending the simplest but the most complex issues. I too agree with your thought and firmly believe that as we grow older, we gain enough experience to differentiate between the right and the wrong and to work towards the betterment of the society. Age is never a barrier, in fact, I believe that age is the key to experience, experience is the key to maturity, and, maturity is the key to success.

    Wishing you all the very best.
    Yashika

    • Yashika;
      First of all thanks a lot for your visit, reading and comment on this post.
      Believe me, Yashika, I never, ever try to inspire you, because, self-driven, self- motivated, creative and talented people like you don’t need any kind of inspiration, what I am trying to do is just; I am trying to acquaint you with your hidden talents, dormant creative power, unending desire to excel in what ever you are doing; and I am more than happy to admit that, day after day, you are exploring new horizons, crossing new boundaries, breaking new barriers and from bottom of my heart I know that, once people like you get going ” ONLY SKY IS THE LIMIT.”
      Wishing you all the best……………..
      Do I need to say, one more time, how much, I am enjoying your company, your friendliest nature, your warmth words, your cordial way to deal with people?????????????
      NO, YASHIKA, I AM UNABLE TO DESCRIBE IT IN WORDS……..YOU JUST UNDERSTAND IT IN,YOUR OWN WAY…

  5. Swajith,
    I’m speechless! Honestly!
    Well, even the most talented people fail to explore their dormant strength and, thus, fail to excel. At this time, people like you play the most important role in their lives by making them come to know themselves.
    Every time I read your posts, I’m left with a lingering thought in my mind. And, as I begin to grope on such thoughts, I begin to rediscover myself.
    Thank you for blessing me with your cherubic company.
    Yashika

    • Yashika;
      For that matter; always be careful for selection of your friends in CYBER WORLD as well as in REAL WORLD, choose your friends carefully, choose the person, who believes in you, choose the person who doesn’t have any ulterior or ugly thoughts in mind, choose the person who always trying to uplift you, choose the person with whom you honestly like to enjoy your time…….

  6. Yes, it’s true that we need to choose genuine people as friends in our lives. However, it is needless to mention that sometimes, it becomes very difficult to distinguish between the good person and the one with wrong intentions. I’ll definitely try to be cautious, but, I must say that I’m so soft-hearted that I consider everyone to be good. I take time to understand the wrong intention of a person. That’s a disability of mine you can say.

  7. It really is amazing to stumble upon this post as one thing that I dread about is coming near. I am about to age up in a few weeks!! Realizing that days passes by swiftly in front of my eyes is frightening.

    It’s not that I am afraid about my looks changing but, it is about me and my capability to do things. I always believed in the wrong conception that the older you become, the little chance of achieving your dream.

    I always dream of becoming a writer; to publish my own book and to inspire others through my writing. I know by now it is somehow late and the fact that I do not believe in myself is a big challenge as well.

    And this post honestly lit u my mind.
    This post lets me break the false belief I had ever since.
    Thank you for sharing this one.
    It is an inspiration, a masterpiece that I will forever remember especially when I feel like discouraged again.
    Thank you for this my friend.

    And oh, this are my favorite lines:

    – We do all the necessary activities, we take all the necessary steps like regular exercise, healthy and hygienic food, regular life etc.; there is nothing wrong in it, it is absolutely fine, but this over simplification ignores one of the very vital aspect of age.

    And that is MENTAL ASPECT!

    – Age is hardly any barrier for those who do want to do something in their life

    More power to you and your writing!

    • Tony;
      It is absolutely amazing to see your presence with one of the most unique comment.
      Yes, I don’t know about you whether you inspired or not but you certainly inspired me.
      There are many issues in your comment; which needs serious clarification; so, since you are considering me as your friend;with your due permission, I am trying to convey something to you;
      First of all; Since, last few days; I am clearly marking that; day after day; you are becoming more and more depressed; in fact, you should try to be more and more happy ( I mean it-new life).
      Second; As far as I know, you are very young and still whole life is in front of you; so; why you are looking at the half empty glass instead of looking at half full glass of water; so, don’t you think by just changing the perception to see the things from other point of view; many a times we can be helpful to us only.
      Many a times; it happens with all of us; due to some circumstances and situations we may lose the faith in our self only and it is perfect normal situation; because, we are not super human being, but just ordinary person; there is nothing wrong to think in that way; but slowly and steadily we start to uplift our self from wherever we are; I do understand; it is lot easier said than to done it; but, above post is example of it; many of them passed through this phase and somehow lift them self and see the extra-ordinary result they have achieved; so, never ever let the current situation become your permanent situation; because, it is very vicious circle the more you allow it the more it will take control of your thought process, so, as early as possible come out from this circle;
      Think over it seriously.
      Wishing you all the best……………………

      • Better late than never read this my friend. Thank you! I admit, this past few months dragged me down but now, I am totally fine. i am coping up and pretty soon, hopefully, back with writing. Thank you so much for the concern through this message. I appreciate it so much.

        Stay happy my friend.

  8. Thank You for this wonderful post!! Every age has its blessings. Age is not something to restrain us unless we let it. Getting older is a good thing, it allows us more chances to love and be loved, learn and teach, bless and be blessed, meet more people, do amazing things…beauty and wisdom deepens as we get older. Thank You for the reminder and your insights. ❤

    • Kim;
      First of all thanks a lot for your frequent visit, reading and comment on my blog;
      Believe me your each visit makes my day; because, when blogger of your stature, quality, class and skill visit my blog; I feel honored;
      Yes, I do agree with your view point getting older is good thing; because, it is maturity of age gives us the wisdom, prudence which we might have over sighted during our younger years; not only that getting older broadens our mind so we can see the various perspective for one matter; getting older is good thing; if we don’t let the age dominate our body and physique.
      Wishing you all the best……….
      I truly appreciate your blog and your writing skill, presentation style and selection of subject; please keep it up.

    • Thanks a lot for your visit, reading and comment on this post.
      Wishing you a very happy blogging and wonderful life.
      Please do come more often we will have a great time together,
      Wishing you all the best………………

  9. Sorry I was not finish yet, but my grandson pressed the button for me. One can accomplish anything he or she was destined for, regardless of age. Of course, with the fear of God and good health. Here I’m fifty four, with two grand children, and finally back in school. Although I’m still trying to determine how I will pass the algebra class. lol Whatever happens, I will be content. If I have to finally walk away, it will be with the assurance knowing I gave it my best shot.
    Thanks again for your kind gesture. I posted some humor on my blog, from the book of proverbs, let me know what you think. I’m still learning how to manage my blog, so be patient with me.

    Take care.
    Nadège

  10. Haha … as my birthday just recently passed, i have never felt the need to be reminded of this as now. I guess it really comes – that time when age matters and then you go, “wait a minute! I shouldn’t mind at all”… and then you carry on after all your plus one year was just yesterday – few hours back… ^_^

    • Star;
      First of all thanks a lot for your visit,reading and comment on this post.
      I am truly honored, sorry delighted with your this wonderful,kind and very warmth friendly gesture.
      I am absolutely thankful to you.
      First of please accept my “Happy Birthday well wishes”, from bottom of my heart I pray to God that new year bring all the happiness, success, name and frame to my dearest new friend, and your life become road of roses, everyday you explore new horizon, new height in your physical, Mental,Social,Financial and spiritual life.
      God has given us one life to live so let us leave it in best possible manner, so, whenever, we die there should be no regret at all!!!!!!!!!!
      What do you think???????????????
      Please keep coming, it is indeed pleasant experience to talk with you.
      Wishing you all the best………..

Leave a Reply

