GO THE EXTRA MILE; IDIOMS-PART TWO

WARNING: THIS IS VERY HARSH AND BITTER POST; SO, IF YOU ARE MENTALLY PREPARED TO READ IT THAN ONLY READ OTHERWISE……..
 
Hello friends;
 
It gives me immense pleasure to publish this post which is the second part of Go to the extra mile.
This post I have divided in four sections
  1. Congratulation
  2. Thank you
  3. Nomination
  4. Feed back
 
CONGRATULATION:
 
First of all, congratulation to all; who have successfully completed the course;
 
Second; congratulation to all who have enrolled for the course but couldn’t completed each and every assignment.
 
Third; congratulation to all those who have participated in the course but hardly made any progress.
 
THANK YOU;
 
IN my previous post; I appealed to all of you to comment on my post and I am more than happy to say that each one of you have responded my appeal in most positive manner and commented on my post; some of the comments are worth to remember; especially;
Stephanie
Miss Donna;
Kelly;
Yes, each and every comment, I appreciate all of you, because, each one of you were very much busy with Bloggin U and than also you people spared some time, read the post and commented on it.
So, thanks to all of you;
 
NOMINATION;
 
As I promised in my previous post, currently, I am studying various blogs(only my followers) and in my next post I will feature them here, so, as per my promise; I have done it and on 1st February I have added one more page on my blog “AWARD” and nominated 15 bloggers for “Very Inspiring blogger award”
Please do not forget to visit this page; who knows your or your dear friends may be there.
 
FRIENDS,
NOW;HAVE A GLASS OF WATER BESIDES YOU,
BE PREPARED; TO SWALLOW VERY BITTER PILL;
 
FEEDBACK
 
During last month, I visited various blogs, and commented on many blogs, after going through various blogs, I observed few common mistakes most of the bloggers are doing.
 
some of them are worth to mention;
 
  • NO VISIBILITY OF FOLLOW BLOG BUTTON; 
This is one of the most serious mistake; I have found on many blogger’s blog; there is no widget about “follow my blog”; 
Yes, it is very true, during my visit, I came across many many good blogs and some of them are too good; but, there were no “Follow blog” widgets;
No doubt, without that widget; there are many ways to subscribe the blog but believe me friends it is too laborious process to enter your email id and enter your URL and than you subscribe for the blog;
 
If you are one of them;
This is my solid suggestion to immediately install that widget and not only that; place it on most strategic location of your blog ;from where it can be visible; and do not forget to check mark the no. of followers button; 
During last month, I just placed the widget on top of my footer and check mark the no. of followers and; my followers increased up to great extent;
 
The logic behind this;
When it is placed at very convenient place, where without searching it too much; people can find it easily; immediately they will subscribe to your blog and by adding the no. of followers, people can easily find that this blog is followed by many bloggers and it creates some psychological effect on their mind and they will immediately start to follow your blog.
 
  • LESS RESPONSIVE TO THEIR COMMENTATOR;
 
Second biggest mistake I found;
Many bloggers are very very less responsive to their commentators, many a times, I experienced; 
All the way, I have gone through someone’s blog, read their post; commented on it, and what I have found; sometimes my comment were waiting for moderation for two days.
Now, Imagine the scenario; in your blog’s “About” page out of 500 words written description you have written in very very sweet and flatter language about
  • How much you like to meet new friend;
  • How much you like to talk to new people;
  • How much you are friendly and interested to meet new people; 
And someone all the way, came with good faith, to built up good relationship with you, to be your friend and waited for two days for moderation of his/her comment.
  • Don’t you feel you are neglected? 
  • Don’t you feel it’s a kind of carelessness from the blogger’s end?; 
If you are one of them and doing the same mistake; I am asking you……………
 
  • IS IT YOUR way to connect with like minded people? 
  • Is it the way you treat someone who came to meet you all the way? 
  • Is it the way you want to be friend with someone?
 
Honestly speaking; 
Many a times, I surprised and shocked with your way of treatment, way of presenting yourself to out world people.
If you are one of them my simple word of advice to you;
 
  • Either change the writing of your “ABOUT” page;
OR
  • Change the behaviors to treat your commentators;
 
CHOICE IS YOURS…………...
 
  • MANY OF THE BLOGGERS ARE TOO MUCH OBSESSES WITH THEIR THEMES AND WIDGETS; 
Friends;
 
REMEMBER…….
 
Your readers are visiting your blog for reading your post, creative content, thought-provoking ideas, useful information, gaining some knowledge, exchanging some ideas, making new friends etc.
 
Not to see your theme;
Yes, when some one visit your blog for the first time they will notice it; pay a little bit attention on it, and entire process takes only few minutes; once after observing your theme; they will  immediately go to read your post…..
 
So, my friendly word of advice;
Instead of wasting too much time on changing the themes and setting widgets.
Please pay more and more attention on creating qualitative post, thought-provoking ideas, mind-boggling points, which compel them to visit more often on your blog;
Do you know how many times have I changed my theme in one year????
Only twice in the year; 
And I am quiet comfortable with my present selection of theme (BOOK LITE) theme, 
Because, for me this is most suitable theme; 
WHY?
  1. My readers base range from teenagers to elder age person; so, this theme offers me big and bold font; which is quiet reader-friendly; 
  2. Second thing; all the widgets are on footer only so, it hardly distract the mind of readers, 
  3. And third, I heavily relied upon my writing skill only, so, I don’t want to distract my readers attention on any other issues of theme like side widgets; So, all the widgets on footer are quiet comfortable for me.
So, instead of theme; pay as much attention on content as much possible…..
BECAUSE;
Your readers are not interested to know yesterday what you had on your lunch;
Or with whom you had  your lunch;
1 image of your lunch dish…………
1 image of restaurant……….. 
200 words written description…..
 
Is it your definition of your “quality post”?
 
Is it your definition of creative post, mind-boggling ideas?????????
 
If you are one of them and doing the same mistake………………
 
My friendly advice to you……………..
 
Please;
 
  • Change the setting of your blog and instead of public change it to you “private’ setting;So, pity soul like me never by intention or unknowingly stumbled upon your blog;
OR
 
  • Improvise the standard of your post…. 
CHOICE IS YOURS……..
 
NOW, I AM ENDING MY POST HERE; STILL, THERE ARE MANY IMPORTANT POINTS I HAVE MARKED DURING LAST MONTH, AND EACH ONE IS UNIQUE; AND BELIEVE ME; SIMPLY FOLLOWING IT YOU CAN ACHIEVE HUGE SUCCESS OVERNIGHT ; BUT I DON’T WANT TO WRITE IT HERE;
 
SO, IN THIS POST; I AM ASKING TO ALL OF YOU; WOULD YOU LIKE TO READ MORE FEEDBACK; 
I HAVE GIVEN TWO OPTIONS HERE;
 
TWO OPTIONS;
 
  1. Yes- I am more than happy to read few more fantastic feedback. 
  2. No- I am not interested in your silly and stupid words of advice.
COPY- PASTE ANY OPTION ON COMMENT SECTION,
DEPENDING UPON THE MAJORITY  NUMBER OF YES OR NO, I WILL PUBLISH MY NEXT POST; WHICH WILL BE PUBLISHED ONWARD 15 FEBRUARY TO 7th OF MARCH.
THANKS……
47 thoughts on “GO THE EXTRA MILE; IDIOMS-PART TWO

  1. Hi,
    Don’t you think that was a bit too harsh? I mean sometimes, you don’t really get time to comment you know, you might just pop in check all the notifications and leave and then come back and reply in detail at a later date. I do that too at times you know, doesnt mean I dont value all those who take time to visit my blog and treat them bad. I respect and value each and every one of them, because withouth them I am nothing! So will be the case with others as well! 🙂 Hope you understand!

    • Shruti;
      Your point is logical; right now, I am just replying you, in due time, I will think over it and if possible we will have a more discussion on this topic.
      Because when my “FRIEND, PHILOSOPHER CUM GUIDE” (Shruti) says something; as a most obedient student I have to seriously think over it.
      Anyway, thanks a lot for once again being first commentator on my post…………..

    • I think I understand his point. I have the same feeling. If you really do go back and comment after you like is one rthing but I often see many likes on a post and sometimes not even one comment, or a non-comment comment like”great blog” I read a post once of really no value that had 36 replies. Looking further it was between 2 people and they were all 3-5 words of fluff. So it looked like she wrote a great post and got good stats and it was all junk. What is an extra 30 secs to write a meaningful reply, if you liked it, to boost perhaps a new bloggers confidence.

      • That is of course bad, but then it happens to us also right? And those who like your blog and follow your posts will definitely comment when they do get time and the others, can’t we just be happy with the number of likes! 😀

      • Yes, I enjoy seeing the likes. I try to go to the blogs of those people and see what they are writing about. But I do so much enjoy the conversations from people all over the world. I have found it is the relationships you build with people who are the ones who return again. To see one ‘like’ from one person and you never see them again means they can never understand why you are writing. It’s like reading one chapter in a book. But really, it will always be a combination of both likes and comments. The likes at least tell you you’re being read, otherwise sometimes a person will see there are no likes and maybe think you don’t have a good blog and make you lose confidence when you’re new. I make it a habit for myself only, if I like it enough to ‘like’ it I will take the time to say why. Through this I’ve made some wonderful connections. These are going to be the first people who will probably buy my book when I’m done. Cause and effect.

      • Sonniq;
        First of all thanks for visit, reading, commenting and following my blog.
        Believe me, I am not against the usage of pressing “LIKE” but, what, I personally, feel is that, many a times, it is used as a proof of your presence to the blogger; that, I have visited your blog, so, when, I will publish something you should visit, kind of the things.
        That’s why, I always prefer both, I read the post, comment on it and press the “LIKE”
        Yes, like you, I too believe in connecting with my readers and that’s why, I prefer more descriptive, more clear and more meaningful comments from them, because, I am not at all 24X7 social media addicted blogger, so, my post and comment section of it is the only mode of communication with my readers; and I am more than happy to admit that my most of the readers are quiet aware about it and they comment on my blog, but, without fail, I too visit their blog, comment on their post and try to connect with them in their own blog too.
        Wishing you all the best for your book……………

      • Sonniq;
        Thanks for your visit, reading, comment and following my blog.
        Yes, you are absolutely right, by commenting on the blog, we can boost up the confidence of new bloggers and I am more than happy to admit that, more often, I do it willingly….
        Wishing you all the best…………..

  2. Hey there
    Touché! Good for you. What you said is true and you made some great points. I learned a lot about the strength and importance of the blogging community from you during this course. And we all know this is the foundation of building our traffic, making new friends and building our brand online.
    I have enjoyed getting to know everyone especially YOU and Good Woman. Thanks so much for your feedback and help.
    Blessings

    • Donna;
      First of all thanks for visit, reading and comment on this post.
      Your words are as inspirational, dynamic, charming, sweet and warmth as your overall personality.
      Yes, I firmly believe in the strength and importance of building community; you want believe me; but my most of the productive blogging time; I use for this purpose; and you can not imagine, how much it is interesting, enjoyable and satisfying experience and for allocating my more time on this issue only, I minimized my post frequency.
      Wishing you all the best………………….
      YES——–1+1+1+1=4

  3. This is a bit straight-forward and honestly, I like reading this kind of post. It’s funny and at the same time, very thought-provoking. Let’s me think about how I have interacted with the blog world. Lol.

    And I admit, I must share this as I believe, this might help not only to those who are new to blogging but as well as to those who have been writing for a long time. Cheers! 🙂

    • Tony;
      First of all thanks for visit,reading and comment on this post.
      You can not imagine; how much, I am happy to see your presence in my blog; because, you are my favorite blogger and reading your post is very much enjoyable experience.
      Thanks for your kind words and encouragement.
      Wishing you all the best…………………………
      YES———1+1+1+1+1=5

  4. Hi Swajithkas,

    I would love feedback, since I do value and appreciate your comments and point of view 🙂 I do agree with some of your points, especially the one regarding proper placement of the Follow button. I’ll admit, though, I do change my themes often (I wrote a recent post about it) and play around with my widgets occasionally. Marketing-wise, I feel having a good theme that suits your personality is important to attract readers because it helps them get a sense of who you are. However, the most important aspect, as you said, is content 🙂

    I guess, to each his own?

    • Stephanie;
      Do I need to say; how much I am happy to see your presence here?
      No, it is proven matter………………
      Thanks for comment; once your exams will be over, we will have a more discussion.
      YES———1+1+1+1+1+1=6

  5. Another reply to you and not the other blogger. I have 2 blogs. my first one is very important to me. I am also writing a book about it. Comments I get are usually long as are my responses. My subject is very focused about one thing. That blog is http://mynameisjamie.net . At the end of the year I start a second blog. http://watchandwhirl.com so I can write about other things. I wrote post after post after posts. I didn’t get even one reply. Even after 10 posts I didn’t get one comment. I got very discouraged because I thought no one liked my post. So I said something to a blogger at blogging 101. Guess what she said? I didn’t have my comments turned on!! No one could leave a comment!! I felt so silly. I have them turned on now (smile)

    I do like your posts. You say the things people need to hear but afraid to ask the questions. I think I will also re log a post.

  6. Pingback: Blessed With Things That Money Can’t Buy | Tony So: Tip-toeing to see what’s beyond.

    • Dr. Sweety;
      First of all thanks a lot for your visit, reading and commenting on this post.
      I am more than happy to acknowledge your thinking ” Yes, you are absolutely right, in digital or printing world it is only content which matters, rest of the matters gives glory and glitter for few minutes, but at the end of the day it is content which matters.
      I see theme of the blog as a physique of blog, widgets as a necessary organ, without it body can not function properly and content of the blog is soul; so, concluding part of entire discussion; no matter how much good body ( irrespective or male/female) you have; but if you don’t have good soul; you can not keep your partners(readers) happy and satisfying for longer period.
      Am I right???????????????
      Congratulation, for “ARJUN”, your book, still, I have not gone through it but I would be your probable customer.
      Wishing you all the best for your books.

      • Yes, I do get confused n blogs which are very colorful and decorative and littered with awards etc. I prefer the simple font and clean template.
        As for Arjun, I would love to see your conversion from ‘probable’ to ‘definite’ customer!

      • Dr. Sweety;
        Thanks for your prompt reply; we both have somewhat common view point regarding theme and awards.
        Regarding “Arjun” once again, best of luck, I have note your words and certainly will do something in this regard.
        Wishing you all the best………….

  7. Hi!
    It’s Janice from Reflections. Here I am in your part of the blogosphere! I’m checking to see if you have a theme since you asked me to. I will answer you at Reflections. Stay tuned for the answer. I will say, though, I TOTALLY agree with what you said about bloggers being “I” centered and not responding to other bloggers. You may have used a harsh tone, but it was all true. Your harsh tone may be engaging to some; certainly not boring.

    • Janice;
      First of all thanks a lot for your visit, reading and commenting on this post….
      I am absolutely thankful to you..It gives me immense pleasure to welcome such a wonderful human being and very talented blogger at my blog.
      I truly appreciate your comment and not only that; for staying tuned on your blog and reading wonderful, thoughtful and knowledgeable post from you; today, I subscribed for your blog.
      I wish, more often we will visit each other’s blog and through commenting on each other’s blog; we can communicate in more meaningful and more effective way to each other.
      Once again thanks for your kind visit and humble friendly gesture.
      Wishing you all the best………………..

  8. Pingback: GO TO THE EXTRA MILE-IDIOMS-PART-3 | QUOTATIONS, IDIOMS & PROVERBS

  9. I appreciate the likes but enjoy the comments as it helps me to get to know bloggers better but underdstand that people are busy and do not always have time to comment on all blogs. Also a like is a “Hey I saw your post but had nothing to contribute” which to mean means that post did not evoke anything in them or their interests. All of your points are very good ones

    • Donna;
      Thanks a lot for your visit, reading and comment on my this post.
      Yes, there is nothing wrong in pressing like button once in a while but when it is done with the intention to prove other person about our presence, than it becomes absolutely useless, because, for me blogging is all about connecting with like minded people with whom we can share our stories, our success, our failures and our tragedies and triumphs.
      By the way, today, I have subscribed for your blog, if you too do the same, it will be beneficial for both of us, because, we can constantly remain in constant contact with each other.
      Wishing you all the best………….

  10. Hi friend. Guess what? I’m making great progress, going the extra miles as you suggested. I’m taking the time to read other blogs, making new friends, and most of all, I’m commenting as well, not just press the like button. I’m also waking up early with the hope to start walking daily. I’m hoping to make new friends and start contributing in my new community. I always enjoy reading your blog, you have some excellent advises.

    Thanks!
    Nadege

    • Nadege,
      I am very much glad to know that day after day you are making progress in your blogging life, keep continue, slowly but steadily you will have all success.
      By the way, do you know, today, I have published one very interesting post, eagerly awaiting to read your views on this post.
      Wishing you all the best………..

  11. Yes- I am more than happy to read few more fantastic feedback. Can you believe this answer is not followed by a humorous comment? That’s because I’m STARVING I just realized I only ate a popcorn today, so you see what I mean?

    • Nadege,
      Have you received your food for the month????????????????
      so you see what I mean?
      Eagerly awaiting to read your reply…………
      Wishing you all the best…………

      • Honestly swajithkas, whenever I’m writing, food is the last thing in my mind. Yesterday I forgot to eat. It was nearly 7 P.M. when I finally realized that. So yes, in a sense I have received a full month supplies of food from all the pleasant comments I’m geting from my blog.

      • Nadege,
        In fact, now a days I am not getting enough time, So, I haven’t offered anything delicious and tasty to you, whatever, I prepared immediately that only I served, so, please, ignore the taste.
        As far as I know, now, you do not need feedback from me, because, you have learned all the lessons now just implement it more vigorously and willingly, success will be yours.
        Please keep coming, your lively presence makes my blogging journey more memorable.
        Please do not hesitate to ask me whenever you need any help,support from me, consider me as your fast friend.
        Now, happy??????????????????
        Wishing you all the best…………

Leave a Reply

